CSM Recognizes Staff, Faculty for Service, Innovation

The College of Southern Maryland has recognized 28 employees who have made significant contributions to the college’s success during the past six months at a reception at the La Plata Campus. Employees were recognized for their actions and accomplishments in response to the college’s seven principles of diversity, excellence, innovation, integrity, knowledge, respect and teamwork.

The college’s Employee Recognition and Awards Program gives staff and faculty the opportunity to recognize their co-workers’ excellence in the following categories: Extra Mile, Customer Service, Innovator, Leadership, Innovative Teaching and Professional Goal Attainment. The awards are open to individuals, groups and teams.

The Extra Mile Award recognizes employees who have made significant contributions over an extended period of time. An award was presented to Lead Circulation Manager Anita Warnes and Library Specialist Barbara Bowling for taking the initiative to find, purchase and update outdated library resources for faculty members in an effort to promote student success. 

The Customer Service Award recognizes employees who have provided quality service and have ensured customer satisfaction. An award was presented to Advisement and Career Services Department Administrative Assistant Darlene Wade for her creative approach to implementing the advising call-back system. In 2011, Wade answered more than 64,000 incoming phone calls and greeted more than 13,000 visitors at the Advisement and Career Services Office. During peak registration when students require immediate attention, Wade identified and implemented a structured return-phone call system.

The Innovator Award recognizes efficiencies that save the college substantial money or work, improve student educational experiences or lead the college in a new direction. Marketing Department Senior Executive Director Theresa Johnson and Marketing Coordinator Helena Yates received the award for the creation of Realization, a student recruitment video which was developed using real-life student video footage. As a result, this video has received national awards from the National Council on Marketing and Public Relations.

The Leadership Award recognizes employees who have applied strong leadership skills to the success of a curricular project, committee responsibility, administrative project or major college activity. The award was given to Criminal Justice Professor Nicholas Valltos for his involvement as a guest speaker at multiple local community organizations, in addition to accepting responsibility of the new Homeland Security Program. Today, the program is enjoying an increase in enrollment and reputation directly attributable to his input and direction.

The College/Community Service Award recognizes employees who have provided quality service and have done an excellent job to ensure satisfaction to the community. A group award was presented to Community Relations Coordinator Christina D’Angelo, Development Coordinator Erika Abell, Lead Grants Development Specialist Becky Cockerham, Leonardtown Campus Lead Executive Assistant Toni Kruszka, Lead Grants/Contract Fiscal Coordinator Judith Mills Nursing Professor Rose Miller, Leonardtown Campus Corporate Center Lead Business Developer Karen O’Connor, Admissions Recruitment Assistant Director Nellie Pharr-Maletta, Languages and Literature Professor David Phalen, Lead Student Success Coordinator Beverly Russell, Office of the President Executive Assistant Judy Schroeder, Leonardtown Campus Administrative Assistant Lynn Williams, Advancement Lead Executive Assistant Kim Yellman and Payroll Department Lead Director Patricia Zych for their volunteer support of internal and external events in the college and the community such as the CSM Foundation Golf Classic, CSM Night at the Ballpark, the Ward Virts Concert Series and the Twilight Performance Series.

 The President’s Award is given to employees responsible for a project or a major accomplishment that supports the college’s strategic plan or promotes the college’s initiatives and goals. A team award was given to Community Relations Department Senior Executive Director Karen Smith Hupp, Communication, Arts and Humanities Associate Professor Alan Lifton, Technology Services Assistant Director Perry Taylor and Information Management Associate Vice President James Finger for the planning, implementation and oversight of CSMTV and the Public Access Studio. They researched best practices at Howard Community College and worked with the executive producer to determine appropriate programming that can be shared among stations.  

The Professional Goal Attainment Award recognizes employees who have achieved a job-related educational or professional goal. Recognized were Payroll Coordinator Darrel Bob for earning a Certified Payroll Professional certification from the American Payroll Association, Social Sciences, Human Services and Teacher Education Professor Maria Bryant for earning a second doctorate degree in sociology from American University, Community Education Director Vickie Grow for earning an Electronic Health Specialist Training Certificate from the Community College of Baltimore County and Planning, Institutional Effectiveness and Research Department Research Analyst Daniel Turner for earning a master’s degree in applied sociology from the University of Maryland Baltimore County. 

To view career opportunities through CSM’s online application system, visit http://www.csmd.edu/employment/.  For information about the college, call 301-934-2251 or 301-934-7700.