Lois DiNatale Appointed to CSM Board of Trustees

Lois DiNatale
Lois DiNatale

Maryland Gov. Martin J. O’Malley has appointed Lois DiNatale of Charles County to the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees. Lois DiNatale is employed by the Naval Ordnance Safety and Security Activity as a senior Navy environmental expert.

“CSM has been a part of my life since I was a young girl. I am proud and honored to serve on the board of trustees and am looking forward to being an active participant as CSM continues its important role in supporting the future of the Southern Maryland region,” DiNatale said.

She has held several Defense Department leadership positions throughout her 24 years of civil service including the roles of chair for the Joint Ordnance Commanders Environmental Subgroup and for the DoD Operational & Environmental Executive Steering Committee Stockpile Subcommittee. Prior to her current position, she was the director of strategic planning at NSWC Indian Head.

DiNatale is a lifelong resident of Charles County and attended CSM as an undergraduate. She received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in environmental management from the University of Maryland. She lives with her husband, Joe, and children in La Plata.

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms.

Other CSM trustees are Chair James K. Raley Jr. of St. Mary’s County; Vice Chair Mary Maddox Krug, Charles R. Bailey Jr. and MacArthur Jones of Calvert County; Mike Middleton and Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County; and Austin Joseph Slater Jr. and Dr. Janice T. Walthour of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried. For information on CSM, visit www.csmd.edu.