Governor Larry Hogan Appoints Kenneth Abell of St. Mary’s County To CSM Board of Trustees

Kenneth Abell of St. Mary’s County has been appointed to serve the College of Southern Maryland as trustee.

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan appointed Kenneth Abell of St. Mary’s County to serve the College of Southern Maryland (CSM) as trustee, effective July 1, 2020 through 2025.

Abell is currently the director of the Strategic Education Office at the Naval Air Warfare Center, Aircraft Division (NAWCAD) at Patuxent River Naval Air Station where his team engages in education outreach and training throughout Southern Maryland spanning kindergarten to entry-level NAWCAD permanent employees. He has an extensive 35-year career with U.S. Department of Defense.

Among his many assignments, he served at the Navy Primary Standards Laboratory maintaining precision research and development standards in conjunction with the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and he served at Naval Sea Systems Command in support of Fleet Metrology and Calibration, audit and training activities. He also served at the Naval Surface Warfare Center in Dahlgren as director of the Metrology and Calibration Division. Abell has held leadership positions at NAWCAD in business and finance for the Research and Engineering Group and the Test and Evaluation Group in support of rotary and fixed wing aircraft; and a lead implementer of the Mechanical Engineering Program to support a continuum of Research and Education Partnerships in Southern Maryland.

“I am very humbled by this appointment and would like to express my sincere thanks to Senator Bailey for the nomination, and Governor Hogan for the appointment,” said Abell. “I look forward to this opportunity to contribute to the continued successes of CSM.”

Abell is a graduate of Ryken High School and holds a bachelor’s of science degree in Business Management from the University of Phoenix.

CSM’s trustees also include, Jay Webster, Samuel C. Jones and Christy Lombardi of Calvert County; Shawn Coates, Jose Gonzalez and Cordelia Postell of Charles County; and Dr. John W. Roache and Sonja Cox of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Maureen Murphy and as Senior Executive Associate to the board is Larisa Pfeiffer. For information about the college’s leadership, visit

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.