Governor Hogan Appoints Christy Lombardi of Calvert County to CSM Board of Trustees

Christy Lombardi of Calvert County has been appointed to serve CSM as trustee.

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan appointed College of Southern Maryland (CSM) alumna Christy Lombardi of Calvert County to serve CSM as trustee, effective May 13, 2020 through 2021.

Lombardi is currently the executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Community Bank of the Chesapeake in Waldorf, Maryland. The Saint Leonard resident has worked for the bank from more than 20 years and held numerous leadership positions including senior vice president and director of human resources, executive vice president and director of HR and administration and executive vice president and chief administrative officer.

“The College of Southern Maryland plays such an important role in this community by providing opportunities for students with diverse backgrounds and needs to gain knowledge, skills or credentials to prepare for successful careers or further education,” said Lombardi. “I am truly honored to be appointed to serve CSM in this capacity.”

Lombardi currently serves on the Southern Maryland Workforce Development Board and is the chair of Maryland Bankers Association Council of Professional Women in Banking and Finance Advisory Board. She also served on the CSM Foundation Board. She is the past chairwoman of the Calvert County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

Along with being a 2005 CSM graduate, she holds a bachelor of science in HR Management, a master of science in Management /Human Resources and a master’s in Business Administration from the University of Maryland University College. She is also recognized for completing the Program on Negotiation for Senior Executives at Harvard University and for receiving her Maryland Banking School Diploma of Graduation with honors from the Maryland Bankers Association. She is currently pursuing her Stonier Graduate School of Banking Diploma from the American Banking Association at University of Pennsylvania.

CSM’s trustees also include, Jay Webster and Samuel C. Jones of Calvert County; Shawn Coates, Cordelia Postell and Jose Gonzalez of Charles County; and Ken Abell, Dr. John W. Roache and Sonja Cox of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Maureen Murphy and as Senior Executive Associate to the board is Larisa Pfeiffer. For information about the college’s leadership, visit

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.