CSM Trustees Re-Appoint Ted Harwood as Board Chair, Brad Bates as Board Vice Chair

CSM Board Chair Ted Harwood, left and Vice Chair Brad Bates.
The College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees reappointed Theodore L. Harwood, left, as chair and Brad Bates as vice chair.

Dorothea Smith Honored with Trustee Emeritus Status

The College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees at its June 21 meeting re-appointed Theodore L. Harwood of St. Mary’s County as the board’s chair and Bradley O. Bates of St. Mary’s County as vice chair, effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019.

Ted Harwood has been re-appointed as chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees for 2018-2019.

Harwood was appointed to the board in 2010 and has previously served two terms as the board’s vice chair and as the trustee representative to the CSM Foundation. He received his bachelor of science degree in naval science from the United States Naval Academy in 1974. He continued his career for 28 years as a member of the active duty and reserve contingents of the naval aviation community, beginning as an F-14 radar intercept officer and culminating at the Pentagon in OPNAV as head of budgets for naval platforms.

Harwood is a lead engineer with Wyle and has more than 36 years of engineering experience. He is nationally and internationally recognized for his technical expertise in electromagnetic environmental effects, lightning and aviation matters. Harwood co-owns two patents and is an assignee of two others. He is a retired U.S. Navy Reserve captain. Harwood and his wife Nancy have lived in Hollywood since 1997.

Bates of Tanner Creek retired in June 2017 from the Defense Acquisition University where he was a professor of program management. Previously he served as a program manager at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. While at JHU/APL, Bates taught project management and program planning for the Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering Technical Management Department.

Brad Bates has been re-appointed as vice chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees for 2018-2019.

He holds a master of science degree in technical management from the Whiting School of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University and a bachelor of science degree in vocational education studies from Southern Illinois University – Carbondale. He is married with two grown children.

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.

CSM’s trustees in addition to Harwood and Bates include Margaret C. Dunkle, Samuel C. Jones and Jay W. Webster of Calvert County; James Di Misa (1979 CSM Alumna), Lois E. DiNatale and Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County; and Dr. John W. Roache of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Maureen Murphy.

Newly appointed by Gov. Larry Hogan to serve CSM as a trustee with his term to begin in July is Shawn Coates of Charles County. He will replace Smith whose term expires June 30.

At their June 21 board meeting, the trustees honored outgoing trustee Smith, of Waldorf, for her service by awarding her board emeritus status. Smith was appointed as a trustee to CSM’s board in 2007 and has served two terms as chair and two terms as vice chair. A graduate of Bowie State University with bachelor of science and master of education degrees, Smith is a retired educator, beginning her 30-year teaching career in 1965 in the Charles County Public Schools. She is a past recipient of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award presented by The Washington Post, and of the Charles County Teacher of the Year Award. Last October she was recognized by the Association of Community College Trustees as the 2017 recipient of the Trustee Leadership Award for the Northeast Region.

A regionally accredited community college that provides programs and services with a special focus on local workforce development to maintain and grow a healthy economy and community, the College of Southern Maryland serves more than 24,000 credit and continuing education students at its campuses located in Hughesville, La Plata, Leonardtown and Prince Frederick, as well as a Higher Education Center shared with University of Maryland University College in Waldorf and a Center for Transportation Training in La Plata.