CSM Names Nancy Hempstead, Jean McDougall, Barry Walrath to Foundation Board


The College of Southern Maryland Foundation has announced the addition of Nancy Hempstead, Jean McDougall and Barry A. Walrath to its board of directors.

“We are so excited and honored to induct these three highly esteemed and qualified residents of Southern Maryland to our fundraising board. They are passionate about ensuring access to higher education and about helping the students at CSM. We are really looking forward to their participation and leadership on our board,” said CSM Vice President of Advancement Michelle Goodwin.

Hempstead, of Calvert County, served as a marketing executive with Fannie Mae until her retirement in 2004.

With a multi-million dollar marketing budget, Hempstead was responsible for product rollouts, communication and marketing strategies, sales strategies and support, and marketing event strategies.

Since her retirement, Hempstead has been involved in philanthropic events, fundraising strategies and hands-on service projects to help those less fortunate. Hempstead served two terms as president of La Canada Junior Women’s Club, an organization established to help women and children in need in the greater Los Angeles area, served as vice president in charge of member recruitment, and was the liaison for community outreach. She worked with Children’s Hospital Los Angeles to advise on community outreach and fundraising for the hospital’s new wing, and she served as community liaison for PTA at the regional level. Hempstead attended the University of Maryland and American University.

“After recently returning to this area which I've always considered my home, I am eager to lend my expertise at the community level that provides a foundation for success. What better way than to participate in academic and foundational activities that benefit and promote learning and create opportunity for those striving to advance their education. I'm very excited about working with the College of Southern Maryland,” said Hempstead.

McDougall, of Calvert County, served in the security sales and trading, product management, and market research groups of Freddie Mac until her retirement in 1998. She is on the boards of the Solomons Civic Association, the Calvert County Tennis Association and the St. Mary’s County Tennis Association, and she is a member of the Southern Maryland Sailing Association, Calvert County Master Gardeners and the Calvert County Citizens Green Team.

“As a graduate of the Northern Virginia Community College, I enjoyed the uniquely enriching community college classroom experience that included excellent instruction, small class size and a fascinating array of engaged students. My classmates ran the gamut from the traditional recent high school graduates to mid-life career changers and senior citizens. It is an honor to be named to the Foundation Board at CSM which brings such educational experiences to the diverse student population here in Southern Maryland. I hope to contribute to the Board's efforts by serving on the investment committee and fundraising for student scholarships,” said McDougall.

McDougall has a master's degree in business administration from the University of Maryland, a bachelor’s degree in economics from St. Mary’s College of Maryland and an associate degree in photography from Northern Virginia Community College.

Walrath, with more than 25 years of management experience in the defense and intelligence community, is the co-founder and chief operating officer of BANAC Corporation.

“My wife and I strongly believe in the role of junior colleges to provide training and education near the student’s home at a reasonable price. We support the College of Southern Maryland because it provides that opportunity,” said Walrath.

Walrath earned a bachelor’s degree in public affairs from the U.S. Air Force (USAF) Academy and a master’s degree in geography from San Diego State University. He served in the USAF for 24 years, retiring as a colonel with 15 years of aviation operations experience during which time he accumulated more than 6,500 flying hours in a variety of aircraft.

With the USAF and consulting firms, Walrath has more than 30 years of experience in all phases of intelligence production from airborne intelligence collection to preparation of National Intelligence Estimates, with specific areas of expertise in political instability/terrorism; proliferation of weapons of mass destruction; China’s science, technology, professional manpower, and military research and development capabilities; and exploitation of open source intelligence.

As program director at Parsons Corporation for 2011-12, Walrath mentored program managers and oversaw and coordinated all management, recruiting and business development activities. During Walrath’s 23 years with Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC), he served as principal investigator, program manager, division manager and director of program management. As the director of program management for the Command Solutions Operation, Walrath was responsible for program execution, process improvement and mentoring program managers.

The CSM Foundation is the fundraising arm of CSM since 1970. The foundation serves the community and students by providing educational opportunities and services.

Foundation board members are Chair Reuben F. “Jay” Lilly, First Vice Chairs G. S. Proctor Jr. and Christine Rush, Trustee Representative Theodore L. Harwood, Secretary-Treasurer and CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried and CSM Vice President of Advancement Michelle L. Goodwin as the executive director of the foundation.

Foundation members representing Calvert County include Wesley Donovan, E. Rané Franklin, Carmen L. Nance Gambrill, Hempstead, McDougall and Walrath.

Members representing Charles County include Gregory C. Cockerham, Paul V. Facchina Jr., Ruth Ann Ferrell, David Hruda, Lilly, Paula L. Martino, Robert V. Price Jr., Proctor, Rush and Austin J. Slater.

Members representing St. Mary’s County include Harwood, Capt. Glen Ives (Ret.), Alland Leandre, Micheline Lopez-Estrada, Elfreda Mathis, Vickie Kite Milburn and Jennifer Wamsley.

For information on the foundation, visit www.csmd.edu/Foundation/.