CSM Celebrates Longevity, Loyalty


62 Employees Honored for 855 Years of Service

The College of Southern Maryland recognized 62 employees with a combined 855 years of service to the college during the 29th Annual Service Recognition Ceremony and Reception, Feb. 13 at the La Plata Campus.

“Whether you are an administrator, a faculty member or support personnel, you have been and still are influential in helping our students realize their potential,” said CSM Trustee Vice President Dorothea Holt Smith.

Among those honored were Biological and Physical Sciences Professor Paul Billeter and Building and Grounds Technician Charles Clark, both with 40 years of service.

To put into perspective the length of time that Billeter and Clark have spent at the college, Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs Robert Farinelli told honorees and guests that on their first days at work, the president of the United States was Gerald Ford; there was no public Internet, no Facebook nor Twitter; Bill Gates had just graduated from college and Mark Zuckerberg would not be born for another nine years; and it was the year that Jimmy Hoffa disappeared.

“Paul has served under four presidents of the college, has been instrumental in the Belize spring travel abroad program, he’s been a true anchor in the Biological and Physical Sciences Department and he’s been a wonderful colleague,” said Farinelli. 

Clark was honored not only for his years of service but also for his kindness to students.

“When you walk around campus, you will see [Clark] talking with students and directing them educationally. Anything of concern to students is a concern to Charles,” said CSM Financial and Administrative Services Vice President Tony Jernigan. “Charles has told me, ‘These students have a lot to offer,’ and that speaks volumes to his passion for the success of our students.”  

In addition to Billeter and Clark, recognized for the longest years of service at the ceremony, other employees marking increments of five years of service were honored.

CSM employees honored for years of service at the college are:

Five years: Erika Abell, Valerie Anderson, Tisean Bell, Kim Busch, Pat Conward, Dr. Richard Fleming, Loretta Foster, James Gerondakis, Keith Hight, Tony Jernigan, Shaniel McBurrows, Dennis McIntosh, Michelle Morsell, Craig Patenaude, Larisa Pfeiffer, Jane Pomponio, David Robinson, Shelly Snell, Penny Trusty, Charles Walsh and Heather Zeolla;

10 years: Jennifer Everhart, James Finger, Nancy Gibson, Lisa Lynk Smith, Tara McManaway, Andrea Muntz, Bill Rollins, Barbara Scotland, George Wall, Susan Wilson and Patty Zych;

            15 years: Tony Bates, Joe Burgin, Wendy Cleary, Glennis Daniels-Bacchus, Joni Ellis, Judi Ferrara, Linda Giles, Tom Grinder, Vickie Grow, Mary Beth Klinger, Linda Cooke Smith, Benita Sneade and Michael Suwak;

            20 years: Beverly Coger, Chip Keech, Jackie Koerbel and Robin Young;

25 years: Colleen Joffe, Toni Kruszka, Joan Middleton, Andrea Ronaldi and Don Smith;

30 years: Tom Gorecki, Mary Johnson, Wayne Karlin, Tom Seremet and Margaret Thomas; and

            40 years: Billeter and Clark.

            “We all work together here under one umbrella—a simple umbrella where we all work together for the good of our students,” said Billeter.

For information on employment opportunities at CSM, visit http://www.csmd.edu/employment/.