Trustees Select Dorothea Smith as Board Chair, Ted Harwood as Vice Chair


The College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees has appointed Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County as the board’s chair and Theodore L. Harwood of St. Mary’s County as vice chair, effective July 1.

“I look forward to working with Vice Chair Ted Harwood and the CSM Board of Trustees in support of President Gottfried and his staff to ensure the fruition of the college’s mission. I also want to thank the board of trustees for its vote of confidence,” Smith said.

Smith was appointed as a trustee to the board in 2007, and has served two terms as vice chair. A graduate of Bowie State University with Bachelor of Science and Master of Education degrees, Smith is a retired educator, beginning her 30-year teaching career in 1965 in the Charles County Public Schools. She is a past recipient of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award presented by The Washington Post, and of the Charles County Teacher of the Year Award. A language arts-reading instructor of middle school students, Smith also held various positions on the executive board of the Education Association of Charles County and was the faculty representative to the teachers association for John Hanson Middle School.

Since her retirement, Smith has been active in numerous civic and community organizations, including serving as a county appointee on the Board of Appeals and the Citizens Advisory Committee on the Waldorf Upgrade/Bypass Study. Presently, she serves on the Charles County Retired School Personnel Association, the Charles County Sheriff’s Citizens Advisory Committee, the African American Heritage Society of Charles County, the Substance Abuse Advisory Coalition, and the Kiwanis Club of Waldorf and its foundation board of directors.

Harwood was appointed to the board in 2010 and has served as the trustee representative to the CSM Foundation. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in naval science from the United States Naval Academy in 1974 and continued his career for 28 years as a member of the active duty and reserve contingents of the naval aviation community, beginning as an F-14 radar intercept officer and culminating at the Pentagon in OPNAV as head of budgets for naval platforms.

Harwood is a lead engineer with Wyle and has more than 36 years of engineering experience. He is nationally and internationally recognized for his technical expertise in electromagnetic environmental effects, lightning and aviation matters. Harwood co-owns two patents and is an assignee of two others. He is a retired U.S. Navy Reserve captain. Harwood and his wife Nancy have lived in Hollywood since 1997.

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.

In addition to Smith and Harwood, CSM’s trustees are Samuel Jones, Mary Krug and Julie Sickle of Calvert County; Lois DiNatale and Michael L. Middleton of Charles County; and Dr. John W. Roache and Dr. Janice T. Walthour of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried.

A regionally accredited community college that provides programs and services with a special focus on local workforce development to maintain and grow a healthy economy and community, CSM is a two-time silver level recipient of the Maryland Performance Excellence Award. CSM serves more than 25,000 credit and continuing education students at its campuses located in Leonardtown, La Plata and Prince Frederick, as well as a Higher Education Center and a Center for Trades and Energy Training in Waldorf and a Center for Transportation Training in La Plata. A fourth campus in Hughesville to centrally locate specialized, high-cost programs is planned for fall 2016. For information about CSM, call 301-934-7765 or visit