Nominate Your Leader for CEO of the Year by Feb. 15

Leading Edge Awards Honor Decade of Leadership Excellence June 23

Honoring a decade of leadership excellence, the College of Southern Marylands Corporate Center is searching for the 2010 Chief Executive Officer of the Year at the 10th annual Leading Edge Awards on June 23. Recognizing outstanding leadership within Southern Maryland, the Corporate Center is seeking nominations for this top honor by Feb. 15.

“Every CEO of the Year award has gone to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to our community. Not only are these individuals excellent business people but their philanthropic contributions are also admirable. The Leading Edge Awards is an opportunity for our community to thank them again for their success and generosity,” said Alan Kutz, vice president of the Corporate and Community Training Institute.

Located in one of the fastest-growing regions in Maryland, the Southern Maryland business community and its CEOs face a unique set of financial, technological and workforce challenges, according to Kutz, and the Leading Edge Awards has provided the opportunity over the past decade to recognize those individuals responsible for encouraging economic growth and vigor in the region.

Christine Wray, president and CEO of St. Marys Hospital since 1992, was recognized as the 2009 CEO. Wray has been the driving force in establishing St. Marys Hospital as a jewel among healthcare organizations in the United States. She earned a bachelor of arts from The Johns Hopkins University and a masters degree in Health Planning and Administration from The Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health. She serves as a representative to state and national healthcare organizations and is active in the community, serving as a member of the Southern Maryland Naval Alliance and the Rotary Club. During Wrays tenure, St. Marys Hospital was named as one of only four hospitals within Maryland to achieve the Delmarva Foundations Gold Achievement Award for Quality of patient care.

The past decade of CEOs of the Year have been Kimberly Oliver, Gore Bolton, Wayne Swann, Luther Grainger, Christine Stefanides, Greg Billups, Joe Yearta and Lloyd Harrison III.

Nominations for CEOs that deserve recognition for their contribution to the economic vitality of Southern Maryland—CEOs who inspire their organizations, exude success and make a difference in our community—may be submitted through Feb. 15.

CEO nomination criteria and online nomination forms are available at To qualify, nominees must be with a business located within Charles, Calvert or St. Marys counties, be in a position of leadership in a Southern Maryland business (private sector), and be available to attend the ceremony, 6 to 9:30 p.m., June 23, at the Greater Waldorf Jaycees Community Center.

For information, call 301-934-7585 or 301-870-2309, Ext. 7585 for Charles County; 240-725-5499, Ext. 7585 for St. Marys County or 443-550-6199, Ext. 7585 for Calvert County or visit