Michael Middleton Appointed to CSM Board of Trustees

Michael L. Middleton has been selected to serve as chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees.

Maryland Gov. Martin J. O'Malley has appointed Michael L. Middleton of La Plata to the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees, effective July 1, 2007. Middleton is the president and chairman of Tri-County Financial Corporation and its banking subsidiary, Community Bank of Tri-County, Waldorf. He joined the bank in 1973 and previously was employed by KMPG-Peat Marwick, Baltimore.

Middleton graduated from Bellarmine University, Louisville, Ky. with a bachelor of arts degree in accounting and was awarded a master's of business administration with a concentration in finance from the University of Maryland. His professional accreditation includes a Certificate of Public Accounting and the Program for Negotiation for Senior Executives at Harvard University.

Active with a number of organizations, Middleton is chairman of the board of the Energetics Technology Center, and a member of the board of directors of the Maryland Bankers Association as well as several philanthropic foundations and a historical preservation foundation. Previously he has served as chair of the board of directors for the Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta, chair of the Charles County Economic Development Commission and chairman of the American Bankers Association's Federal Home Loan Bank Committee, as well as a director of the Council of the Federal Home Loan Banks and a Paul Harris Fellow.

Middleton is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Maryland Association of CPAS, the American Bankers Association, the Maryland Bankers Association and the National Association of Corporate Directors.

CSM's Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college's mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms, and by 2010 the board will consist of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary's counties to be equally represented.

Other CSM trustees are Chair James K. Raley Jr. of St. Mary's County, Vice Chair MacArthur Jones, Charles R. Bailey Jr. and Mary Maddox Krug of Calvert County, Robert Healy, Joseph F. Shannon Jr. and Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County, and Janice T. Walthour of St. Mary's County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried. For information on CSM, visit www.csmd.edu.