Governor Appoints Brad Bates, Margaret Dunkle, Jay Webster as CSM Trustees

Brad Bates
Brad Bates

Newly appointed by Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan to serve the College of Southern Maryland as trustees are Margaret C. Dunkle and Jay W. Webster of Calvert County and Bradley O. Bates of St. Mary’s County.

Bates of Tanners Creek is a professor of program management for the Defense Acquisition University, providing instruction in both acquisition and program management to the Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics workforce in support of Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act (DAWIA) certification.  Working as part of the Acquisition and Program Management team, Bates also provides program support directly to government Program and Deputy Program Managers assisting them with team dynamics, program startup, and rapid deployment training.  Mr. Bates is the Survey Product Lead for the DAU Mid-Atlantic Region. Previously he served as the Program Manager for the Dynamic Time Critical Warfighting Capability (DTCWC) an upstream algorithmic data fusion engine at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory.  While at JHU/APL, Bates taught project management and program planning for the Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering Technical Management Department.

He holds a Master of Science degree in technical management from the Whiting School of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University and a Bachelor of Science degree in vocational education studies from Southern Illinois University – Carbondale.

He is married with two grown children.

Jay Webster
Jay Webster

A resident of Dunkirk, Webster is vice president and part owner of Marrick Properties, Inc., providing oversight to senior management, and developing and implementing creative strategic development for this premier homebuilder in Southern Maryland since 1984. Previously he was affiliated with Century 21 as Jay Webster & Associates Real Estate Sales in Upper Marlboro.

Webster has achieved notable recognition, including being named Realtor of the Year in Prince George’s County and 40 Under 40 by the Washington Business Journal.

He is currently president of the Rotary Club of Upper Marlboro and he has served previously as president of the Rotary Club of Southern Prince George’s County, president of the Prince George’s County Association of Realtors, chair of the Arbitration Committee for the Prince George’s Association of Realtors, and as regional vice president and as a member of the executive committee for the Maryland Association of Realtors. Webster has achieved Golden “R” and Life Member RPAC with the National Association of Realtors.

Webster’s community involvement has included serving on the Calvert County Hospice board of directors, including as president and he chaired the steering committee for the Burnett Calvert Hospice House which began accepting patients in 2010. Known as the “house that love built,” it is a six bed residential home in Prince Frederick designed for Calvert County residents in hospice care who require more skilled care than those at home can provide.

Additionally, Webster has served as a committee chair with Cub Scouts Pack 789 and in 2006 earned the title of King for the United Way of Calvert County’s annual Mardis Gras. A graduate of Suitland High School, Webster pursued higher education at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Margaret Dunkle
Margaret Dunkle

Dunkle, of Port Republic, received the 2016 William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award in Calvert County for her leadership and lifelong advocacy efforts for equal opportunity and women’s rights. Most recently, Dunkle chaired the Blue Ribbon Harriet Elizabeth Brown Commemoration Task Force that identified ways to honor the legacy of this Calvert County civil rights pioneer. She also played a central role in implementing Title IX, the 1972 landmark legislation prohibiting sex discrimination in schools receiving federal funding that is most commonly associated with equity in college athletics. She is also a recipient of the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Dale Richmond Award for outstanding contributions in the field of child development.

Previously she chaired the Calvert County Commission for Women. She is a board member for the Calvert County Community Foundation and the League of Women Voters of Calvert County. She was a 2012 inductee to the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame and a 2014 inductee into the Philanthropy Hall of Fame of the Community Foundation of Southern Maryland. Her papers are archived at the Schlesinger Library at  Harvard University.

Prior to her retirement, Dunkle was lead research scientist with George Washington University’s Department of Health Policy, and director of Early Identification and Intervention Collaborative for Los Angeles County.

She has authored more than 100 publications on subjects ranging from early identification and intervention of children with disabilities and developmental delays, to vaccine safety, accountability for results, cross-sector reforms, linking policy to research, collaboration, intergovernmental partnerships, equal opportunity and civil rights, Title IX, federal budget policy, education and health.

Dunkle has testified nine times before the U.S. Congress on issues including: youth development; Congressional reorganization; federal, state and local assistance programs; student financial assistance and barriers to self-sufficiency for low-income women; insurance discrimination; equal opportunity in science and technology; educational equity; and career and vocational education.

She is a graduate of Calvert High School. Prior to earning a bachelor of arts degree from Syracuse University she attended Hood College.

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.

CSM’s trustees in addition to Bates, Dunkle and Webster include Samuel C. Jones of Calvert County; CSM Trustee Chair Dorothea H. Smith, Lois E. DiNatale and Michael L. Middleton of Charles County; and CSM Trustee Vice Chair Theodore L. Harwood II and Dr. John W. Roache of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried. For information about the college’s leadership, visit

A regionally accredited community college that provides programs and services with a special focus on local workforce development to maintain and grow a healthy economy and community, CSM is a two-time silver level recipient of the Maryland Performance Excellence Award.

CSM serves more than 25,000 credit and continuing education students at its campuses located in Leonardtown, La Plata and Prince Frederick, as well as a Higher Education Center and a Center for Trades and Energy Training in Waldorf and a Center for Transportation Training in La Plata. A fourth campus in Hughesville to centrally locate specialized, high-cost programs is planned for spring 2017. For information about CSM, call 301-934-7765 or visit