CSM Trustees Appoint Dorothea Smith as Chair, Ted Harwood as Vice Chair

Dorothea Holt Smith has been selected as chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees for 2016-2017.

The College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees has re-appointed Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County as the board's chair and Theodore L. Harwood of St. Mary's County as vice chair, effective July 1.

Smith was appointed as a trustee to the board in 2007, and has served one term as chair and two terms as vice chair. A graduate of Bowie State University with Bachelor of Science and Master of Education degrees, Smith is a retired educator, beginning her 30-year teaching career in 1965 in the Charles County Public Schools. She is a past recipient of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award presented by The Washington Post, and of the Charles County Teacher of the Year Award. A language arts-reading instructor of middle school students, Smith also held various positions on the executive board of the Education Association of Charles County and was the faculty representative to the teachers association for John Hanson Middle School.

Since her retirement, Smith has been active in numerous civic and community organizations, including serving as a county appointee on the Board of Appeals and the Citizens Advisory Committee on the Waldorf Upgrade/Bypass Study. Presently, she is a member of the Charles County Retired School Personnel Association, the Charles County Sheriff's Citizens Advisory Committee, the African American Heritage Society of Charles County Inc., Antique Arts Association and the Kiwanis Club of Waldorf and its foundation board of directors.

“I look forward to working with Vice Chair Ted Harwood, the members of the board of trustees and President Brad Gottfried to ensure that CSM continues to be an institution of academic excellence with an emphasis on workforce development,” Smith said.

Harwood was appointed to the board in 2010 and has served as the trustee representative to the CSM Foundation and one term as the board's vice-chair. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in naval science from the United States Naval Academy in 1974 and continued his career for 28 years as a member of the active duty and reserve contingents of the naval aviation community, beginning as an F-14 radar intercept officer and culminating at the Pentagon in OPNAV as head of budgets for naval platforms.

Harwood is a lead engineer with Wyle and has more than 36 years of engineering experience. He is nationally and internationally recognized for his technical expertise in electromagnetic environmental effects, lightning and aviation matters. Harwood co-owns two patents and is an assignee of two others. He is a retired U.S. Navy Reserve captain. Harwood and his wife Nancy have lived in Hollywood since 1997.

CSM's Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college?s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary's counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.

Completing her appointment as a trustee, Mary M. Krug of Calvert County was given Board Emeritus status by the trustees at the June 16 trustee meeting for her distinguished service to the board. Serving as a trustee since 2006, Krug completed two terms as a trustee and was selected by the trustees to serve as vice chair of the board, 2009-10, and chair, 2010-12.

Also honored for her service by fellow trustees at the June 16 meeting was Dr. Janice T. Walthour, a life-long resident of St. Mary's County and who served as a CSM trustee since 2007.

Referencing Krug and Walthour's service as trustees, Smith said, “Mary Krug and Dr. Janice Walthour are to be commended for the time and dedication to the college.”

CSM's trustees in addition to Smith and Harwood include Samuel C. Jones of Calvert County; Lois E. DiNatale and Michael L. Middleton of Charles County; and Dr. John W. Roache of St. Mary's County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried.

Newly appointed by Gov. Larry Hogan to serve CSM as trustees with terms to begin in July are Margaret C. Dunkle and Jay W. Webster of Calvert County and Bradley O. Bates of St. Mary's County.

A regionally accredited community college that provides programs and services with a special focus on local workforce development to maintain and grow a healthy economy and community, CSM is a two-time silver level recipient of the Maryland Performance Excellence Award. CSM serves more than 25,000 credit and continuing education students at its campuses located in Leonardtown, La Plata and Prince Frederick, as well as a Higher Education Center and a Center for Trades and Energy Training in Waldorf and a Center for Transportation Training in La Plata. A fourth campus in Hughesville to centrally locate specialized, high-cost programs is planned for spring 2017. For information about CSM, call 301-934-7765 or visit www.csmd.edu.