CSM Recognizes Staff, Faculty for Service, Innovation

The College of Southern Maryland recognized 22 employees who have made significant contributions to the college’s success during the past six months at a reception May 5 at the La Plata Campus. Employees were recognized for their actions and accomplishments in response to the college’s seven principles of diversity, excellence, innovation, integrity, knowledge, respect and teamwork.

The college’s Employee Recognition and Awards Program gives staff and faculty the opportunity to recognize their co-workers’ excellence in the following categories: Extra Mile, Innovator, College/Community Service, Leadership and Professional Goal Attainment. The awards are open to individuals, groups and teams.

The Extra Mile Award recognizes employees who have made significant contributions over an extended period of time. An award was presented to Engineering Professor Dr. Neal Wilsey for his extraordinary effort in gaining Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) approval of two new associate of science in engineering (ASE) degree programs. The ASE was developed as the first fully statewide engineering transfer agreement in the country. Its purpose is to allow ASE graduates to transfer a block of courses to a program in the same field, eliminating the need for a course-by-course transfer process. Wilsey worked with faculty members from higher education institutions across the state in developing ASE degrees in electrical engineering and computer engineering.

“Not only will prospective engineering students benefit from the work of Dr. Wilsey, but the ease of transferring to pursue a bachelor’s degree will encourage and prepare citizens to work in the highly demanding STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) fields,” said CSM Mathematics, Physics and Engineering Chair Andrea Ronaldi.

The Innovator Award recognizes efficiencies that save the college substantial money or work, improve student educational experiences or lead the college in a new direction. A team award was given to Software Development Team Associate Director Gene Kirscht,  Programmer Analyst Lesa Bowden, Applications Development Team Assistant Director Mark Pielmeier, Continuing Education Program Developer Joyce Embrey, Personal Enrichment Program Coordinator/Youth Shaunda Holt,  Personal Enrichment Program Coordinator/Youth John Terlesky, Lead Director/Registrar Carol Harrison, Personal Enrichment Program Administrative Assistant/Youth Theresa Beckett and Bursar Dana Venneri for their roles in the development of an online registration process for Kids’ and Teen College.

Following a mailing of more than 3,000 announcements on the new process, 50 percent of all new registrations were made online and enrollment increased by 23 percent over the same period in 2010. “The college has received all positive feedback from the Kids’ College customers,” said Enrollment Management Associate Vice President Joan Middleton.

The College/Community Service Award recognizes employees who have provided quality service and have done an excellent job to ensure satisfaction to the community. An award was presented to Professor Jim Cleary for his contributions to the Adjunct Faculty Academy and the Adjunct Faculty Development Committee. Cleary has served as an informal resource for new faculty members regarding utilization of technology and course pedagogy.

Jim regularly interacts with the high school students in the community as a volunteer softball coach at McDonough High School,” said Ronaldi. “While serving as a mentor and guide in the community, Jim has represented CSM in a positive manner. His efforts and energy are transforming the lives of students internal and external to the college.”

The Leadership Award recognizes employees who have applied strong leadership skills to the success of a curricular project, committee responsibility, administrative project or major college activity. The award was given to Languages and Literature Professor Kim Donnelly for developing a monthly adjunct professor training program attended by hundreds of part-time faculty over the course of the semester.

Kim spends countless hours working directly with adjunct faculty to ensure the college is offering the right kind of training sessions at appropriate times,” said Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Sue Subocz. “She has spearheaded new ideas to ensure adjunct faculty recognition programs are in place, and most recently she helped establish a scholarship fund. Kim’s involvement displays a strong sense of promoting teamwork by increasing the ability of adjunct faculty to truly become part of the team.”

The Professional Goal Attainment Award recognizes employees who have achieved a job-related educational or professional goal. Recognized were  Systems Administrator Network/Datacom James Graves who earned a master’s degree in telecommunications management from the University of Maryland University College (UMUC), Graduation Coordinator Diane Major who earned a master’s in education/adult education and training from the University of Phoenix, The Corporate Center Business Developer Karen O’Connor who earned a master’s in management from the College of Notre Dame of Maryland and was inducted into the Delta Mu Delta International Honor Society, Career and Academic Advisor Jessica Parker who earned a master’s degree in contemporary communications from the College of Notre Dame of Maryland, Testing Center Assistant Suzanne Davis-Rice who earned a bachelor’s degree in sociology from St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Technology Specialist Quinton Jones who earned a bachelor’s degree in information assurance from UMUC, Academic Programs Coordinator Audrey Yoho who earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from UMUC, Human Resources Administrative Assistant Jeanine Davis who earned an associate’s degree in general studies and an associate’s degree in arts and sciences from CSM, Personal Enrichment Program Coordinator Adults/Seniors Vickie Grow who received a Certified Program Planner (CPP) designation from the Learning Resources Network (LERN) and Human Resources Compensation and Benefits Director Jennifer Rupp who received a Senior Professional in Human Resources (SPHR) certification through the Human Resources Certification Institute.

CSM is an eight-time recipient of the Workplace Excellence Award, and a first-time recipient of the 2010 Health and Wellness Trailblazer Award.

To view career opportunities through CSM’s online application system, visit http://www.csmd.edu/employment/.  For information about the college, call 301-934-2251 or 301-934-7700.