CSM Places Third in Tommy Morrison Softball Invitational

Anne Arundel, Hagerstown Community Colleges Place First, Second

Named for longtime College of Southern Maryland Softball Coach Tommy Morrison with an overall record as 286-133-1, three MDJUCO titles and three regional championships, the 15th annual invitational tournament held March 10-11 at Robert Stethem Memorial Park in Waldorf featured eight teams: CSM Hawks, Anne Arundel Community College Pioneers, Community College of Baltimore County-Catonsville Cardinals, Community College of Baltimore County-Dundalk Lions, Erie Community College Kats, Hagerstown Community College Hawks, Northhampton Community College (Pa.) Spartans and University of Maryland (Club Team) Terrapins.

Results of the 2012 CSM Tommy Morrison Softball Invitational:


Pool A                 Pool B

Hagerstown        CSM

Erie                     Northampton

Catonsville          Anne Arundel

UMD Club           Dundalk


10 a.m. Games

Erive V Hagerstown (2-0) Hagerstown winner

UMD V Catonsville (8-0) Catonsville winner

CSM V Anne Arundel (4-0) Anne Arundel winner


11:30 a.m. Games

Dundalk V CSM (6-3) CSM winner

Anne Arundel V Northampton (4-0) Anne Arundel Winner

Hagerstown V UMD (6-3) Hagerstown Winner


1 p.m. Games

Hagerstown V Catonsville (11-10) Hagerstown Winner

UMD Club V Erie (5-2) Erie Winner

Dundalk V Northampton (5-4) Northampton Winner


2:30 p.m.Games

CSM V Northampton (1-0) CSM Winner

Anne Arundel V Dundalk (6-1) Anne Arundel Winner

Erie V Catonsville (10-2) Catonsville Winner


Seedings for Sunday based on Saturday games:


Pool A                    Pool B

1. Hagerstown       1. Anne Arundel

2. Catonsville         2. CSM

3. Erie                   3. Northampton 

4. UMD Club         4. Dundalk


10 a.m. Games

Hagerstown V Dundalk (10-1) Hagerstown Winner

CSM V Erie (7-4) CSM Winner

Anne Arundel V UMD Club (12-4) Anne Arundel Winner

Catonsville V Northampton (12-10) Northampton Winner


11:30 a.m.Games

CSM V Hagerstown (4-1) Hagerstown Winner

Anne Arundel V Northampton(7-3) Anne Arundel Winner

Catonsville V Erie (4-2) Catonsville Winner

Dundalk V UMD Club—Game did not get played


1 p.m. Championship Game

Hagerstown V Anne Arundel (8-0) Anne Arundel Winner


Final Results

1. Anne Arundel (6-0)

2. Hagerstown (5-1)

3. CSM (3-2)

4. Northampton (2-3) Ranked ahead of Catonsville based on semi-final game vs consolation game played by next lower seed.

5. Catonsville (3-2)

6. Erie (2-3)

7. UMD Club (0-4)

8. Dundalk (0-4)


            For information on CSM athletics, visit www.csmd.edu/athletics.