CSM Names David N. Hruda to Foundation Board

a:10:{i:0;s:312:"Founder and owner of CakeLove bakeries in the Washington

The College of Southern Maryland Foundation has announced the addition of David N. Hruda, Esq. of Charles County to the CSM Foundation board of directors. Hruda managed the start-up of Watermark Medical, Inc., a national provider of diagnostic testing through web-based platforms for healthcare providers and patients. He is currently the firm’s chief compliance officer and general counsel.

“I am honored to serve on this very important foundation. I look forward to contributing to the growth of CSM,” Hruda said.

Hruda attended the George Washington University and the University of Maryland and earned a bachelor’s degree in behavioral and social sciences from University of Maryland University College and a JD (juris doctor) from the University of Baltimore.

He helped found and create PDSHEART, Inc., a cardiac telemedicine monitoring healthcare company which grew to serve 4,000 clinics, 12,000 doctors, 110 hospitals and 30 universities nationwide and is now a publicly traded company. He served as president of Somerset Development Co., a regional developer and home builder, responsible for handling real estate transactions from acquisition to full legal entitlement process. In addition, Hruda was a trial attorney in Baltimore before becoming a partner in a private law firm based in Southern Maryland.

Hruda is past chairman of the board for Civista Health Foundation and is a former director of the Charles County Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the Maryland Bar with professional affiliations and licenses with U.S. District Court of Maryland, Federal Tax Court, Maryland Bar Association, Health Care Attorneys and Health Care Compliance Association.

“We are pleased to welcome a knowledgeable and devoted leader in our community to join a board of directors who are active in supporting the growth and mission of the College of Southern Maryland,” said CSM Director of Development Martina Arnold.

The CSM Foundation is the fundraising arm of CSM since 1970. The foundation serves the Southern Maryland community and students by providing educational opportunities and services.

Other foundation board members are Chair Reuben F. “Jay” Lilly, First Vice Chairs G. S. Proctor Jr. and Frederick Tepel, Trustee Representative Theodore L. Harwood, Secretary-Treasurer and CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried and CSM Vice President of Advancement Michelle L. Goodwin as the executive director of the foundation.

Foundation members representing Calvert County include Eric Bailey, Wesley Donovan, E. Rané Franklin, Carmen L. Nance Gambrill and St. Clair Tweedie. Members representing Charles County include Michelle Aughinbaugh, Gregory C. Cockerham, Paul V. Facchina Jr., Ruth Ann Ferrell, Lilly, Paula L. Martino, Robert V. Price Jr., Proctor and Christine Rush. Members representing St. Mary’s County include Harwood, Capt. Glen Ives (Ret.), Alland Leandre, Elfreda Mathis, Vickie Kite Milburn, Tepel and Jennifer Wamsley.

For information on the foundation, visit www.csmd.edu/Foundation/.