CSM Honors Student Athletes at Annual Awards Banquet

Athletic distinction, sportsmanship and academic success for the 2017-18 season were celebrated recently at the College of Southern Maryland’s (CSM) annual athletic awards banquet held at the Greater Waldorf Jaycees Center.

During the ceremony, coaches from CSM’s athletics department presented awards for accomplishments in baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, men’s and women’s soccer, softball, volleyball and women’s lacrosse. Athletic awards for CSM’s Hawks’ teams capped off a fulfilling spring season overall, with a total of 78 wins and 114 losses across all sports.

Athletes of the Year  

Softball starter and co-captain Samantha Summers, of Mechanicsville, was named the Female Athlete of the Year. Summers returned to her second season of college softball and ranked within the top 25 in the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA). She was the only player in the top 25 who did not strike out the whole season. She also ranked in the top 10 in the Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference (JUCO).

CSM basketball player Juwan Smith, of Lexington Park, was named the Male Athlete of the Year for his outstanding play with the Hawks. The sophomore starting point guard was named Second Team NJCAA Division II All American, Second Team All-Maryland JUCO and First Team NJCAA Region XX. Smith racked up impressive stats for the Hawks, with an average of 20.1 points per game, 4.1 rebounds per game, 82 steals and 4.4 assists per game. In addition, he sunk 98 three-pointers during the season.

Savanna Pavkov, of Clinton, was awarded the Scholar Athlete of the Year for maintaining 36 credit hours with a 4.0 average while delivering a solid performance on the girls’ softball team as the Hawks’ left fielder.

The Wings of the Hawk Award is an award given by the entire athletic department to an individual for helping the athletic program behind the scenes. This year it was presented to two recipients for their outstanding support of all athletes. Director of Student Services Dr. Dorothy Collins and Coordinator of the Southern Maryland Studies Center Anna Kephart were recognized for providing academic support to the students. The two worked with athletes who were struggling academically throughout the season on study strategies and techniques to help lift their success.

Other Award Winners  

Women’s Soccer:

Outstanding Leadership Award: Jazmin Summers, of Mechanicsville

Player of the Year: Kelsea Burgess, of Leonardtown

Men’s Soccer:

Coaches Award: Max Bode, of Nanjemoy

Coaches Award: Paul Burton, of Pomfret


Offensive Player of the Year: Alexandra Allen, of Billings, Montana

Defensive Player of the Year: Brandie Todd, of Charlotte Hall

All Around Player of the Year: Ashley Hall, of Hughesville

Cross Country:

All Around Best Male Runner of the Year: Jacob Weber, of Great Mills

All Around Best Female Runner of the Year: Allison Mattera, of Huntingtown

Women’s Basketball:

Coaches Award: Jennifer Nanosi, of Hyattsville

Coaches Award: Te’a Green, of Landover

Award of Academic Excellence: Amashia Moyd, of Montgomery Village

Award of Academic Excellence: Alexandra Allen, of Billings, Montana

Men’s Basketball:

Most Valuable Player: Juwan Smith, of Lexington Park

Coaches Award: Sean Scott, of Waldorf

Women’s Lacrosse:

Most Valuable Player: Kayla Clark, of Chaptico

Most Improved: Jenna Purdy, of La Plata

Team Player of the Year: Heather Donovan, of St Leonard


Offensive Player of the Year: Samantha Summers, of Mechanicsville

Pitching Award: Lindsey Wood, of Hollywood

Hawk Award: Megan Cunningham, of La Plata


Most Valuable Golfer: William Garrett, of Chesapeake Beach

Leadership Award: Tyler Potts, of Owings


Offensive Leader: Derek Taitano, of Hollywood

Defensive Leader: Gavin Moore, of Waldorf

For information on athletics at CSM, visit www.csmd.edu/Athletics.

To view photos from the CSM Athletic Awards banquet, visit http://csmphoto.zenfolio.com/18athbanquet