CSM Athletes Excel on Field, in Classroom

13 Student-Athletes Named to MDJUCO All-Academic Team

Thirteen student-athletes from the College of Southern Maryland were recently named to the Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference's (MDJUCO) All-Academic Team. To be eligible, students must maintain a 3.5 grade point average while simultaneously participating in at least one season-long sport.

Recipients of this award include, Micaela Ada of Waldorf (women's lacrosse), Adrian Carkhuff of Mechanicsville (volleyball), Krysta Chotkowski of Indian Head (women's lacrosse), Jacqueline Clark of La Plata (cross-country), Diana Cruz of Lexington Park (softball), Samantha Culver of Dunkirk (women's soccer), James Day of Mechanicsville (men's basketball), Kelly Flaherty of Brandywine (volleyball), Kayla Ruiz of California (women's soccer), Sydney Schultz of Waldorf (women's soccer), Laura Shaner of Leonardtown (women's soccer), Alejandro Smith of Prince Frederick (cross-country) and Eric Stamp of Waldorf (baseball).

A number of these athletes were honored earlier this year at the athletic awards banquet. Freshmen lacrosse players Ada and Chotkowski earned the CSM Coaches Award. Ada also earned the All-MDJUCO Honorable Mention.

From women's soccer, sophomore Shaner was the CSM Student Athlete Scholar of the Year. Sophomore Ruiz earned the CSM Coaches Award.

From cross-country, sophomore Clark was named to the Women's XC All-MDJUCO First Team and was the Overall Region XX Women's Individual Championship winner. She also earned the CSM Most Valuable Player Award.

From volleyball, sophomore Flaherty earned the CSM Sportsmanship Award.

From men's basketball, sophomore Day earned the CSM Coaches Award.

To view gallery of CSM MDJUCO All-Academic Team, visit http://csmphoto.zenfolio.com/mdjuco.

For more information on CSM Athletics and the fall schedules, visit www.csmd.edu/Athletics/.