Commemorative Bricks along Walkway Honor Loved Ones

a:10:{i:0;s:341:"Colorful feathers

CSM Celebrates 24 Individuals during Honorary Brick Program

Two brick entrances located at the College of Southern Maryland, La Plata Campus provide lasting tributes to honor individuals in a special way for their service to the college and its students. The CSM Honorary Brick Program is a lasting celebration of those who have a special connection to CSM and the Southern Maryland community.

Among those remembered with memorial bricks placed on the walkway in front of the James C. Mitchell Center for Health Technology (HT) Building recently were Professor Larry Chappelear, Judith Shorter Farrall, Roland “Teddy” Gutrick, Ethelmae M. Lilly, Catherine Parker Lovely, Pearl and Valette Proctor, Marge Ridgell, Paul M. Rosinski, Viola Jean Rupp, Professor Ed Schauf and Patricia Schwier.

Bricks were also placed in honor of Col. Mary L. Boyd (Retired), the Ives family, Timothy and Theresa Johnson, Arlene Kirby, Jay and Mary Lilly, Dr. Edith Patterson, Jo Ann Ptack, Dr. FJ Talley, Dr. Debra Tervala and Margaret Thomas.

 As a tribute to a family member, a friend or to represent a special occasion, the brick is inscribed and placed among other honorary bricks placed outside one of the two entrances into the HT Building. Bricks are available for $200 and provide financial support to the college and its mission. For information on the program, visit or call the Development Department at 301-934-7649.