2013 CEO of the Year Nominations Due By April 1

The College of Southern Maryland’s Corporate Center is searching for the 2013 Chief Executive Officer of the Year to be honored at the 13th annual Leading Edge Awards (LEA) on June 12. Recognizing outstanding leadership within Southern Maryland, the Corporate Center is seeking nominations for this top honor by April 1.

Located in one of the fastest-growing regions in Maryland, the Southern Maryland business community and its CEOs face a unique set of financial, technological and workforce challenges, and the LEA provides the opportunity to celebrate corporate success and to recognize those individuals responsible for encouraging economic growth and vigor in the region.

The 2012 CEO was Chaney Enterprises President and CEO William F. Childs IV. Childs is responsible for the overall operations of Chaney Enterprises’ companies and partnerships. He has helped to lead, develop and implement Chaney Enterprises’ business strategies to ensure their continued successful growth in an environmentally responsible manner. Thanks to his principle-based leadership and can-do attitude, Chaney Enterprises was able to not only realize a profit in the midst of economic crisis, but also fulfilled its corporate promise of donating 10 percent of its net profits to charities and organizations in the communities it serves. Childs participates in many professional and civic organizations, including serving as a board member of the National Ready Mix Concrete Association and on the Board of Trustees for St. Paul’s School in Brooklandville, his alma mater.

Other CEOs who have been recognized previously include Eric W. Franklin, Brianna Bowling, Christine Wray, Kimberly Oliver, Gore Bolton, Wayne Swann, Luther Grainger, Christine Stefanides, Greg Billups, Joe Yearta and Lloyd Harrison III.

Nominations for CEOs that deserve recognition for their contribution to the economic vitality of Southern Maryland—CEOs who inspire their organizations, exude success and make a difference in our community—may be submitted through April 1.

To qualify, nominees must be with a business located within Charles, Calvert or St. Mary’s counties, be in a position of leadership in a Southern Maryland business (private sector), and be available to attend the ceremony, 6 to 9:30 p.m., June 12, at the Greater Waldorf Jaycees Community Center.

For information, call 301-934-7837 or email blahman@csmd.edu. .