2012 CEO of the Year Nominations Due By Feb. 15

The 2011 CEO, The College of Southern Maryland’s Corporate Center is searching for the 2012 Chief Executive Officer of the Year to be honored at the 12th annual Leading Edge Awards (LEA) on June 13. Recognizing outstanding leadership within Southern Maryland, the Corporate Center is seeking nominations for this top honor by Feb. 15.

The 2011 CEO, “The CEO of the Year recognizes excellence at many levels, with our previous CEO of the Year recipients demonstrating exceptional leadership within their organizations as well as making a difference  in our community,” said Dr. Daniel Mosser, vice president for Continuing Education and Workforce Development.

The 2011 CEO, Located in one of the fastest-growing regions in Maryland, the Southern Maryland business community and its CEOs face a unique set of financial, technological and workforce challenges, and the LEA provides the opportunity to celebrate corporate success and to recognize those individuals responsible for encouraging economic growth and vigor in the region, Mosser added.

The 2011 CEO, Eric W. Franklin, is founder, president and CEO of ERIMAX, Inc., a professional services corporation headquartered in Dunkirk, developing innovative solutions through acquisition, program management and information technology services. Franklin’s strong commitment to his employees, many of which are located across the United States and Canada, is evident in the benefits, monetary bonuses and professional, yet relaxed, work environment that ERIMAX offers. The company has had 10 years of continual profit growth while maintaining the highest levels of customer satisfaction. Franklin also offers his time in support of various non-profit organizations dedicated to improving the opportunities for small and minority businesses.

Previous CEOs recognized include Brianna Bowling, Christine Wray, Kimberly Oliver, Gore Bolton, Wayne Swann, Luther Grainger, Christine Stefanides, Greg Billups, Joe Yearta and Lloyd Harrison III.

The 2011 CEO, Nominations for CEOs that deserve recognition for their contribution to the economic vitality of Southern Maryland—CEOs who inspire their organizations, exude success and make a difference in our community—may be submitted through Feb. 15.

The 2011 CEO, CEO nomination criteria and online nomination forms are available at http://corporatecenter.csmd.edu/LEA/2012.html. To qualify, nominees must be with a business located within Charles, Calvert or St. Mary’s counties, be in a position of leadership in a Southern Maryland business (private sector), and be available to attend the ceremony, 6 to 9:30 p.m., June 13, at the Greater Waldorf Jaycees Community Center.

For information, call 301-934-7585 or 301-870-2309, Ext. 7585 for Charles County; 240-725-5499, Ext. 7585 for St. Mary’s County or 443-550-6199, Ext. 7585 for Calvert County or visit http://www.corporatecenter.csmd.edu/.