CSM Students Say ‘Thanks’ to Generous Community

College of Southern Maryland students gathered Oct. 21 to meet and say thanks to members of the community whose generosity and support is helping them fulfill their dreams. The students, who have received scholarships through the CSM Foundation, are pursuing associate’s degrees and also non-credit certifications in the trades.

“Attending the scholarship reception is one of the most heartwarming experiences I've had. It really felt like family,” said CSM Board of Trustees Member Lois DiNatale. “Our alums talk about how getting a scholarship has made a difference to them, and every single one of the scholarship recipients was very thankful, but each one also said how they looked forward to being able to give back to the college in the future. It's a legacy-building ceremony.”

            For the 2012-13 academic year, the CSM Foundation, the fundraising arm of the college, presented more than 200 students with $175,900 in scholarships during this year’s reception.

             “Our scholarship recipients come from all walks of life—from teenagers to seniors—representing all degree programs and socio-economic backgrounds. The one thing they all have in common is their desire to advance their knowledge by attending CSM,” said CSM Director of Development Martina Arnold. “Our donors also come from all walks of life. Some have a passion for their career field and create a scholarship to help the next generation learn their profession. Others create scholarships in honor or memory of a loved one. All are special to the college and our students.” 

             The foundation manages more than 100 scholarships, adding 23 new scholarships this year alone.

            CSM students receiving scholarships, included:


2012-13 Foundation Scholarships


Adjunct Faculty Scholarship

Chanel Allen

Jennifer Young


Albert L. Elder, Jr. Family Memorial Scholarship

Alexis Jones


Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Alpha Lambda Chapter Scholarship

Rayyan Yousaf


Anna Mae Ziencik Hess Memorial Scholarship

Stacy Brookover

Robert Moran

Stefanie Shelton


Brad and Linda Gottfried Against All Odds Annual Scholarship

Neshea Jenifer

Annabel Russell


Brock Nikolas Guerrieri Memorial Scholarship Fund

Donna Hooks


C. Emmitt Woodey Theatre Scholarship Fund

Joshua Russell


Calvert Chamber of Commerce Annual Scholarship 

Tammy Delahoussaye

Elizabeth Lagoy


Calvert Chamber of Commerce Endowment Fund Scholarship

Noelle Swann


Calvert County 350th Anniversary Celebration Scholarship Endowment Fund

Michelle Rednagle


Castles & Foundations Scholarship

Tenisha Carter

Christiana Crivella

Tikisha Hall

Connie Shepherd

Natasha Terry


Charles County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship

Nanette Sparks


Charles County Woman's Club Scholarship

Marie Miller


Chiaramonte Hope Scholarship Fund

Kelly Alston

Gabriela Amaya

Christina Deneale

Robin Holder

Willie McCoy

Caroline Munene

Mary Pyles

Scott Ramroth

Cherie Tahtinen

Billi Jo Wickstrand


Christopher Chinault Scholarship Fund

Monika Lubonski

Tara Radle


Coldwell Banker Jay Lilly Real Estate Scholarship for Construction Trades and Industrial Training Annual Scholarship

Michael Thrower


Connie Kite Memorial CSM Nursing Scholarship

 Brandi Loughery-Goodrich


Country Inn & Suites Hospitality Scholarship

Tia Dickerson


CSM Alumni Association Scholarship

 Keishla Williams


CSM Foundation Realize Your Potential Scholarship

Jessie Adkins

Paige Armstrong

Kaitlin Benitz

Corey Davis

Pia Evans

Sarah Georgiou

Caroline Hedegaard

Jessica Herbert

Martishia Holland

Karen Hurley

David Maines

Caroline Munene

Leila Rountree

Lisa Scales-Fenwick


Stacy Tobin

Christina Vance

Cristina Vandroff

Donta Varney

Lauren Young


CSM Foundation Scholarship for Returning Adults

Stacy Brookover

Denise Collins

Tammy Delahoussaye

Amanda Foster

Latina Gaskins

Monica Jones

Marie Miller

Cynthia Murphy

Sandra Richardson

Christina Terry


CSM Prince Frederick Campus Student Association Scholarship

Noelle Swann


Dennis Lake Smith Memorial Art Scholarship

Kimberly Campbell