CSM Trustees Appoint Ted Harwood as Board Chair, Brad Bates as Board Vice Chair

portrait of Ted Harwood
Ted Harwood has been selected as chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees for 2017-2018.

The College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees at its June 15 meeting appointed Theodore L. Harwood of St. Mary’s County as the board’s chair and Bradley O. Bates of St. Mary’s County as vice chair, effective July 1.

Harwood was appointed to the board in 2010 and has served as the trustee representative to the CSM Foundation and two terms as the board’s vice-chair. He received his bachelor of science degree in naval science from the United States Naval Academy in 1974. He continued his career for 28 years as a member of the active duty and reserve contingents of the naval aviation community, beginning as an F-14 radar intercept officer and culminating at the Pentagon in OPNAV as head of budgets for naval platforms.

portrait of Ted Harwood
Ted Harwood has been selected as chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees for 2017-2018.

Harwood is a lead engineer with Wyle and has more than 36 years of engineering experience. He is nationally and internationally recognized for his technical expertise in electromagnetic environmental effects, lightning and aviation matters. Harwood co-owns two patents and is an assignee of two others. He is a retired U.S. Navy Reserve captain. Harwood and his wife Nancy have lived in Hollywood since 1997.

Bates of Tanner Creek retired in June 2017 from the Defense Acquisition University where he was a professor of program management. Previously he served as a program manager at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. While at JHU/APL, Bates taught project management and program planning for the Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering Technical Management Department.

Portrait of Brad Bates
Brad Bates has been selected as vice chair for the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees for 2017-2018.

He holds a master of science degree in technical management from the Whiting School of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University and a bachelor of science degree in vocational education studies from Southern Illinois University – Carbondale. He is married with two grown children.

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.

CSM’s trustees in addition to Harwood and Bates include Margaret C. Dunkle, Samuel C. Jones and Jay W. Webster of Calvert County; Lois E. DiNatale, Michael L. Middleton and Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County; and Dr. John W. Roache of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried.

Newly appointed by Gov. Larry Hogan to serve CSM as trustees with his term to begin in July is James Di Misa of Charles County. He will replace Middleton whose term expires June 30.

At their June 15 board meeting, the trustees honored outgoing trustee Middleton, a life-long resident of Charles County, for his service with board emeritus status. Middleton served as CSM trustee since 2007, and was chair of the trustees 2013-15 and vice chair, 2012-13.

Referencing his service as a trustee, Board Chair Dorothea Smith said, “During his tenure, Trustee Middleton has been diligent in promoting the mission of the board of trustees in its responsibilities to proactively govern the College of Southern Maryland, ensure institutional integrity and promote excellence of post-secondary education in meeting the needs of the Southern Maryland community. He has supported the college’s two major fund-raising campaigns through the CSM Foundation to fund scholarships for students and he is an avid proponent of the Regional Hughesville Campus. As a trustee his commitment to CSM has been commendable.”

Also at the June 15 meeting, the board granted president emeritus status to CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried upon his retirement June 30, for his distinguished service to the college and serving as the college’s fourth president, from 2006 to 2017.

“As president of CSM for 11 years, Dr. Gottfried has provided extraordinary service to the college,” Smith said. “His vision, leadership and community involvement has made a lasting impact on the growth of CSM and the Southern Maryland region. Under his leadership, there have been expansions in not only educational opportunities for all students but also funds for scholarships through the CSM Foundation’s two campaigns of which he has been a staunch contributor. His vision and understanding of the needs of the community have resulted in the regional campus located in Hughesville which is lauded by all segments of the population. Being an active participant in his community, Dr. Gottfried also initiated three institutes – the Nonprofit, Diversity and the Entrepreneur and Innovation institutes – to better serve the community. He has demonstrated love for education and his legacy of building for the future will continue on at the college.”

Upon Gottfried’s retirement, incoming CSM President Dr. Maureen Murphy will assume the role of secretary/treasurer to the board, effective July 1.

A regionally accredited community college that provides programs and services with a special focus on local workforce development to maintain and grow a healthy economy and community, CSM is a two-time silver level recipient of the Maryland Performance Excellence Award. CSM serves more than 24,000 credit and continuing education students at its campuses located in Hughesville, La Plata, Leonardtown and Prince Frederick, as well as a Higher Education Center shared with University of Maryland University College in Waldorf and a Center for Transportation Training in La Plata. For information about CSM, call 301-934-7765 or visit www.csmd.edu.